The Birth of Our Congregation: ….In the beginning of the twentieth century itself the Eucharistic-centered re-awakening in the life of the Church, initiated by the Holy Pope Pius X (1902-1914), had its impact on the Syro-Malabar Church . There was also a new missionary awareness and enthusiasm in this Apostolic Church . It was in this historical setting that the Missionary Congregation of the Blessed Sacrament (MCBS) was born. ….God has been preparing two great men (mahatmas) in the persons of Father Mathew Alakalam and Father Joseph Paredom to take up this new charism in the Church, who in fulfilment of their life-long religious and missionary aspirations outlined a new way of religious life in the Church: the Missionary Congregation of the Blessed Sacrament. ….In 1933, the jubilee year of the redemptive sacrifice of our Lord, on Sunday 7th May, the feast of St. Joseph ‘s patronage, in the mission church at Mallappally, Mar James Kalacherry, bishop of Changanacherry, established the Missionary Congregation of the Blessed


MCBS at a glance Members 440, Bishop 2, Priests 242, Brothers Co-operators 05, Major Seminarians 191, Novices 32, Minor Seminarians 149, Houses of Formation 08, Houses 55, Mission Centers 28, Mission Stations 40, Ayurveda Hospital 01, Centre for caring the poor and aged 5, Training Centre for Physically Handicapped 01, Children’s Homes 08, Dispensaries 12, Hospital 01, Centre for Caring for mentally handicapped 02, School for the mentally retarded 01, HIV- AIDS Hospital 01, Hostels 10, I.T.I 02, Printing Press 1, Publications 2, Nursery Schools 21, Retreat Centers 2, Schools 28, Self Help Groups 750, T. B. Sanitorium 1, Tailoring Schools 30, Training Centre for Deaf and Dump 1, Adult Education Cetres 24,


KERALA - (1) Zion Public School, Swaraj. (2) Fr. Mathew Alakkalm Public School (MAPS), Irinjalakuda. (3) Jyothi English Medium School, Aluva. (4)Sophia Public School, Chathankottunada. (5) High Range Public School, Oonnukal. (6) Emmaus Public School, Kaduvakulam. (7) St Thomas School, Kompayar. TAMILNADU – (8) St. Josephs Metriculation School, Sengottai. (9) St Josephs English medium School, Sengottai. KARNATAKA – (10) St Antonys High School, Iduvally. (11) St. Josephs Akshardhama, Shimoga. (12) Prasada Central Public School Mysore. ANDRA PRADESH – (13) Bl. Mother Theresa English Medium School, Luxipett. RAJASTHAN – (14) St. Anslems Senior Secondary School, Abu Road. (15) St Pauls School, Jalore. (16) St Pauls School, Sheoganj. (17) St. Pauls School, Bhinmal. (18) St Pauls School, Sirohi. GUJARAT- (19) St Marys English Medium School. ARUNACHAL PRADESH – (20) Corpus Christi English Medium School. MAHARASHTRA – (21) St Xaviers International Residential School, Panchagani. (22) Mary Matha English Medium School, Mhaswad. (23) Mary Matha English Medium School, Dahiwadi. (24) Mary Matha English Medium School, Malsirus. (25) St. Josephs English Medium School, Barshi. (26) St. Thomas English Medium School, Solapur. (27) Deva Matha Public School, Sadepur. MEGHALAYA- ASSAM- AFRICA